Make a Difference

   Give a Gift For the Future of Us All . . .

The Department of Social Work evolved from a small offering of classes to a Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) program and a Master of Social Work (MSW) program recognized and accredited by social work education's national accreditation body, the Council on Social Work Education ( ).  Our Students reflect the diversity of the region, the State, the nation and our world . . . and each has her or his own unique gifts to give to the field of social work.  Our Alumni fill the critical need for professionally trained social workers who serve the community as Case Managers, Victim Advocates, Chemical Dependency Counselors, Probation and Parole Officers, Youth Service Providers, School Social Workers, Clinical Social Workers, Educators, Medical Social Workers, Hospice Social Workers, Family Counselors, Planners, Policy Developers, Supervisors, Grant Writers, Volunteer Coordinators, Administrators, Researchers, Military Social Workers, Employee Assistance Program Counselors, Gerontologists, Psychiatric Social Workers, Adoption Social Workers, Foster Care Workers, Disabilities Specialists, and many other positions where the knowledge, values and skills of the social work profession are needed.

The Department of Social Work counts on gifts from our Alumni, Friends and Supporters to make a difference in the lives of our students.  You can help us meet the needs of Southwest Georgia and beyond by making a contribution to further our mission.  If you wish to contribute, you may choose to make an online gift by clicking this link: and making a note that your contribution is for the Department of Social Work.  You can also mail your financial gift to the address below or contact us for an in-person presentation of your gift.  The money will be used to provide scholarships and other services to our graduate and undergraduate social work students.  We thank you so much for your support of the Department of Social Work and for your contributions that allow us to continue our mission.  For additional information about giving to the Department of Social Work, please contact Dr. Marilyn Spearman, Chair of the Department of Social Work at Albany State Univesity, 504 College Drive, Hartnett Hall Room 325, Albany, Georiga 31705 or 229/430-4694 or  Thank you!