Vision and Mission

Final Report


  • ASU Cochair – Dr. Art Dunning, President, Albany State University
  • DSC Cochair – Dr. Richard Carvajal, Interim President, Darton State College


Albany State University

  • Dr. Kevin Scott, Associate Professor in English and Modern Languages
  • Dr. Florence Lyons, Associate Professor and Coordinator of Speech and Theater
  • Dr. Chanta Haywood, Vice President for Institutional Advancement
  • Dr. Linda Grimsley, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Ms. Wendy Wilson, Special Asst. to the President for Strategic Communications & University Relations
  • Dr. Kellei Samuels, Assistant Vice President for Institutional Research and Effectiveness
  • Dr. Danette Saylor, Vice President for Student Affairs and Success
  • Dr. Paul Bryant, Associate Provost for Enrollment Management
  • Ms. Katherine Laster, Director of Internal Audits
  • Dr. LaVerne McLaughlin, Director of the Library and Associate Professor
  • Dr. George Thomas, Professor of Criminal Justice and Sociology and Faculty Liaison
  • Dr. Walter Bowers, Chair of Faculty Senate and Assistant Professor in Criminal Justice and Sociology
  • Ms. Laurentiis Gaines, President of the Student Government Association
  • Dr. Jianchuan Zhou, Assistant Professor of Arts and Humanities
  • Dr. Alicia Jackson, Dean of the College of Business
  • Ms. Loretta Harris, Business Services Lead Accountant
  • Dr. Carolyn Rollins, Associate Professor in the College of Education
  • Dr. Erica Decuir, Assistant Professor in the College of Education
  • Dr. Ashok Jain, Professor of Biology
  • Ms. Pamela Lewis, College of Education Graduate Student
  • Mr. Del Kimbrough, Interim V. P. for Information Technology

Darton State College

  • Mr. Preston Sweet, Assoc. Prof. of Computing Disciplines
  • Mr. Frank Malinowski, Interim Associate Vice President for Academic & Student Affairs
  • Dr. Tom Ormond, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Mr. Gerryson Engelhardt, SGA VP for Academic Affairs
  • Dr. Jeff Etheridge, Occupational Therapy Assistant Program Director
  • Ms. Renita Luck, Director of Online Learning
  • Mr. Rocco Cappello, Interim Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs / Dean of Students
  • Ms. Lea Henry, Interim Director of Athletics
  • Ms. Pat Ridgeway, Assistant Dean of Student Success
  • Dr. Jamie Barker, Assistant Professor of English
  • Dr. Elizabeth Perkins, Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Dr. Jason Goodner, Assistant Professor of Sociology
  • Ms. Wendy Kennedy, Chair of Social Sciences
  • Dr. Ulf Kirchdorfer, Professor of English
  • Ms. Cynthia George, Chief Advancement Officer
  • Dr. Elizabeth Delancy, Assistant Professor of Dance
  • Mr. John Clemens, Vice President for Fiscal Affairs
  • Mr. Jeremiah Pitts, Associate Prof. of English to Speakers of Other Languages & Faculty Senate Chair
  • Ms. Debra Richardson, Assistant Professor of Nursing
  • Mr. Lee Howell, Director of Plant Operations


  • Develop New Mission Statement
  • Develop Vision Statement